top of page
  • Writer's pictureJenne

How'd yah get to be so sweet?


Sometimes we have a sweet-tooth, a treat is ok but what sweetener is best?


So whats the deal with Sweeteners?


I should start with a breif disclaimer, *Keto sweets should not be consumed until you are fat adapted and in ketosis.* A keto friendly sweetener may trick your brain into processing it like real sugar and can delay getting into ketosis. Once you are in ketosis a Keto approved/friendly sweet treat should be consumed as just that, a treat, and not a Friday night binge snack while catching up on Greys Anatomy on Netflix. Been there...darn halo top icecream!


As some of you may know, I do a lot of Keto baking. I have tested out several sweeteners and have discovered that not all are created equal (no I did not test out Equal..it is not Keto friendly).


Through my experimentation I have found that a lot of sweeteners have a bitter after taste. Some have a cooling effect and almost all do not taste quite like real sugar!! The sacrifice is worth it though and the alternative still tastes good or even great depending on the recipe.



So.... here are my findings on 3 popular Keto Friendly Sweeteners.


Truvia- This sweetener is in packet and contains three ingredients: erythritol, stevia leaf extract and natural flavors. Erythitol is not absorbed by ourbody and is expelled natrually. Yep...poop guys, you poop it out! I find this has an aftertaste that I am not fond of. It bakes well and is quite sweet.


Swerve- This zero-calorie sweetness is a combination of erythritol, oligosaccharides and natural flavors that provide just the right amount of sweetness with excellent baking and cooking functionality. This is my choice sweetener, they even have an icing sugar option. This is more pricey but, in my opinion, worth it. It does not have an aftertaste but it does have a slight cooling effect on the tongue. I do 90% of my baking with Swerve. My Cinnamon Sugar Donuts are tossed in a Swerve and cinnamon blend and it is delicious! (Local to Saint John? You can order my donuts on facebook Key-to Keto Baking - By Jenne Hammond...no shame)


Stevia in the Raw- In this cup-for-cup bakers bag product, pure stevia leaf extract is co-dried with maltodextrin, a carbohydrate derived from corn, to produce a zero-calorie sweetener that matches the sweetness and measurement of sugar “cup for cup” for recipes. This is keto friendly but not ideal with the addition of Maltodextrin, even though it is a small amount it is added carbs to your diet when there are better choices out there. I also find that this has a slight aftertaste, not quite a bad as Truvia.


So that's it Swerve is my go to, it blends well, tastes great and bakes up like the real deal..and I love the cooling effect. You can purchase Swerve online at Amazon.ca or at the Altlantic Superstore.







56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page