top of page
  • Writer's pictureJenne

Help...I stalled!?

Keto is a great way to shed some unwanted lbs and inches in a quick kinda way. But like most things in life....all good things must come to an end, or in this case a temporary stall. How do we get over that hurdle?


I started my keto journey in September 2017 and I dropped 16 lbs fairly quickly. Then things started to slow down. In November I decided to do what is known as a fat fast. At that time I did not research the benefits or how to do it properly. I was a part of a keto forum and a few members were talking about the beef and butter fast. So that is what I did, ewwww it was not good! My 3 day fast consisted of bulletproof coffee for breakfast my lunch and dinner were 1 cup of seasoned beef and 3 Tbsp of butter. Just typing it makes me have the dry heaves! It worked and I broke my plateau at 260lbs and was able to get to 255lbs and maintain it through my regular keto diet.


Skip to December, things are going well I am able to get down to 250lbs by Christmas Eve. I told myself that I am pausing and enjoying a non keto holiday season. That is what I did and it cost me 5lbs. Back at 255 I jumped back on the wagon on January 6 and made it to 250 quite quickly and stayed there allllll month long. Now to say there was no progress would not be correct because my body composition was definitely changing and my clothing fitting better than ever. Nevertheless I am a scale girl and I wanted to see the numbers changing so I researched the benefits of fat fasting and came up with a plan. I was set to commit to 3-5 days of the following menu:


Breakfast- Bulletproof coffee

Lunch- 1 small avocado topped with 3oz of salmon and 1 Tbsp Hellmans

Dinner- 2 eggs scrambled with 2oz cream cheese and some whipping cream, with 3 pieces of bacon or 2 sausage rounds.

I could drink all the herbal tea I wanted and tried to take in 4L of water each day.


So here is how my fat fast went....


Day 1- 8am weigh in 251lbs

Things were going well, the food was good I was satiated and my belly was feeling good. I actually did the happy dance while I ate my scrambled eggs and sausage at dinner time!


Day 2- 8am 250lbs

I am not sure why but I struggled with my BP coffee this morning, I gagged it down and stopped with about 1/4 left. The rest of the say went well. Energy level on the lower side.


Day 3- 8am 248lbs

Today was good I was happy with all my meals getting used to no eating snacks between and feeling full all day long!


Day 4- 8am 246lbs!!!!!!

Ok today was the day I struggled hard...tired of eating the same thing. My hubby recommended trying beef and butter for the remainder of the fat fast, if looks could kill I'd be a widow! I made it through and snuck a russel stovers sugar-free peanut butter cup after dinner :(


Day 5- 8am 246lbs

Breakfast went down good. Then the work stresses began. I ate 2 keto PB cookies from the bake sale....then I ate 2 more......ummmm and 2 more. JESUS! At least they were keto cookies but even so the 6 delicious cookies broke my fat fast. It's shark week next week and I was stressed to my max, that's my story and I'm stickin to it!


Results....


So in the end I made it 4.5 days and lost 5lbs. I reached a milestone and have lost 50lbs since I started working on myself (20lbs lost prior to starting keto in September).


Phase 2 starts Monday when I introduce exercise back into my day, this is another great way to break a plateau. I have a goal of 230lbs by April 23. 16 lbs to go I am ready to get there!


If you are interested in knowing more about fat fasting this is a great resource:

https://ketodietapp.com/Blog/post/2014/08/14/Complete-Guide-to-Fat-Fast




61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SUBSCRIBE VIA EMAIL

  • Follow my Facebook page
  • Follow me on Pinterest
  • Follow me on Twitter @jenne1979
  • Follow me on IG @jenne1979

© 2018 by Key-to Keto. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page